Advertisements ad ad ad ad ad

May 14, 2017

Heart of the School Award winners announced

The Archdiocese of Chicago’s Office for Catholic Schools announced that 18 teachers, administrators and staff members from across its 217 Catholic schools were selected as the 2017 Heart of the School Award winners. The award recognizes outstanding Catholic school employees who represent Catholic elementary and high schools across the two-county archdiocese.

2017 Heart of the School Award winners

Heart of Excellence is given to teachers who foster the highest quality of teaching and learning in their classrooms.

Kathleen Dudek Douglass, Ascension, Oak Park

Mary Stenson, Regina Dominican High School, Wilmette

Heart of Inclusion is given to teachers, staff members and administrators who foster inclusion in education by welcoming and serving all students, regardless of their socioeconomic background or the presence of defined learning needs.

Susan Kehoe, St. Catherine of Alexandria, Oak Lawn

Chiara Nease, Holy Trinity High School, 1443 W. Division St.

Heart of Enrichment recognizes school employees who excel at providing instruction and activities in one or more enrichment area (e.g. art, music, foreign language, physical education, etc.).

Kelly Lamorena, St. Hilary, 5600 N. Fairfield Ave.

Kyle Petros, St. Josaphat, 2245 N. Southport Ave.

Heart of Service recognizes individuals who provide excellent support to the school community.

Joe Accardi, St. Benedict Prep, 3900 N. Leavitt St.

Lisa Sarcinella, St. Barnabas, 10121 S. Longwood Dr.

Heart of Christ recognizes individuals who are outstanding examples of Christian service, love and compassion.

Eileen Bruno, St. Alphonsus/St. Patrick, Lemont

Daniel Zundel, Christ the King Jesuit College Prep, 5088 W. Jackson Blvd.

Heart of Innovation recipients reflect the ability to successfully serve students through adaptation and innovation.

Diniah Dean, De La Salle Institute,

3434 S. Michigan Ave.

Julie Tuten, SS. Faith, Hope and Charity, Winnetka

Heart of Leadership recipients demonstrate leadership in their school through mentoring, inspiring others and setting a clear vision.

Christine Bremner, Our Lady of the Wayside, Arlington Heights

Lily Olson, St. Gall, 5515 S. Sawyer Ave.

Heart of Connection recipients recognize that the school is part of a greater community and actively seek to build connections between the community and the school.

Jim Dippold, Cristo Rey St. Martin College Prep, Waukegan

Sharon Smogor, Carmel Catholic High School, Mundelein

Heart of the Future recognizes employees who have worked in education for three years or less and demonstrate outstanding leadership and service.

Michelle Gross, St. Cletus, La Grange

Erica Massarelli, St. Mary, Buffalo Grove